It’s Really Not a Big Move

I never told Cathy about the move and why should I? She’s my wife and she doesn’t work. I do. I make the money from the plant and I make the decisions at a senior level. People depend on me.

But to be honest I never told her about the job, moving into the middle of nothing-but-empty-land Iowa. I was worried about what she’d say. Hear me out on this. My plan was going to be smooth, like Marshawn Lynch on 3rd and inches. I was going to tell her I got a promotion, but with another company. Benefits for the kids, 100% paid, bonus eligibility twice a year and a Christmas bonus on top of that. How could she say no? All she does is take care of the kids, and that’s a job all in itself, but who keeps the electricity running and meat on the table?

When I divulge the plan I tell her straight. You should’ve seen her face light up, she was smiling like the day of our twentieth anniversary. Then I told her about the move. I told her about Iowa. I tried to circle around it and talked about the benefits again. No co-pays, none of that Obamacare crap, nothing. But she wasn’t buying it. She looked at me with sunken eyes but no tears came out of them. Like I had just punched one of our kid’s in the face in front of her. She never looked at me like that before. It was like staring at a stranger and telling them all your secrets. All your fears and woes. It was like she didn’t know who she was talking to.

“I’m not upset about the job,” Cathy said. “I’m upset you never asked me. I’m disappointed you never bothered to talk to me about it first.”

I slept on the couch for the rest of the week until I put my two weeks at the plant. I came back home to find the bed empty and the kids rooms were cleaned out. I figure she’s with her ma in Pittsburgh because neither of them will pick up the phone when I call. Not even my father-in-law. It’s a pain the ass I know but if you see her, if you see Cathy tell her I’m sorry. Tell her I fucked up. All I want to do is make her happy.

2 thoughts on “It’s Really Not a Big Move

Leave a Reply

